Cherry Pie

Photobucket

The other day I made my first cherry pie. Why, you may ask, have I never made one before? Quite simply, I’m not usually a fan of cherry pie, or any fruit pie in general (with the occasional exception of apple, if it’s done just right). I don’t know why, but I rarely like fruit in any form other than fresh or in smoothies. I wondered if maybe it was commercial pies I didn’t like, so I set about testing myself. Plus there were 2 lbs of frozen cherries from our yard, and I figured our trees are getting ready to produce again…I really ought to clean out the freezer of the old cherries before the new ones come in, right? The Dearliest liked that particular stream of logic.

Anyway. The verdict remains I’m not a fan of cherry pie, however the rest of the house is, and they tell me it was really good, so I’m posting the recipe as I tweaked it.

Cherry Pie

double pie crust dough (top/ bottom)

2 lbs sour cherries, pitted (and thawed, if frozen)
3/4 cu honey
4 T cornstarch
1 T butter
1/4 t vanilla extract

1) roll out top and bottom of pie crust; place bottom in pie pan, set top aside
2) pre-heat oven to 375
3) combine cherries, honey, and cornstarch in large saucepan over medium heat; bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer 5 min until mixtures thickens
4) remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla
5) pour into pie shell; cover with top crust, seal, trim, and cut several slits in top for steam to escape
6) bake 45-55 minutes, until golden brown

Leave a Reply

