Sfingi

Photobucket

I’ve decided I like saying “Sfingi”. One of our hens kinda looks like these as far as coloring, so I’m toying with calling her Sfingi, just to have an excuse to say it. Anyway, I had leftover ricotta cheese from the lasagna rolls and wanted something dessert-ish. It sounded interesting, and they’re really good. Really easy and fun, too. Lots of fun!

It originally called for 2 quarts of oil and a deep fryer, of which I have neither, so I figured the principle I apply to frying falafel patties ought to work as a substitute. It did! Also, drizzling the honey makes a marked difference, because the sfingi by themselves are not terribly sweet. Granted, I did halve the sugar from the original recipe, because often I find desserts are too sweet for my taste. I really liked how this turned out.

Sfingi

1 lb ricotta cheese
2 eggs
1 T granulated sugar
1 1/2 t vanilla extract
1 1/2 T baking powder
1/2 cu all-purpose flour
1/2 cu whole wheat flour

oil
honey
powdered sugar

1) in large bowl mix together ricotta, eggs, sugar, and vanilla
2) combine baking powder with 1/2 cu flour and gently stir into ricotta mixture
3) gradually add remaining flour to form a thick batter
4) cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 1 hr
5) heat 1/4″ oil in a cast iron skillet over medium heat until water flicked into pan produces sizzling
6) drop small teaspoon-fulls of batter into skillet and fry until golden, turning once to fry all sides; remove to paper towels to drain
7) drizzle with honey and dust with powdered sugar

Leave a Reply

