Oreo Cream Cheese Truffles

I was having a chocolate craving and wanted something I could easily pop into my mouth. I forget where it was I first heard about the idea of mixing Oreos and cream cheese, but I’m hear to tell you it’s a winner combination. Alas, it was difficult to stop eating these after the initial “taste test”, which I suppose is one of the cons of a dessert that can be “easily popped” into one’s mouth.

I didn’t measure the ingredients, so I shall make my best guess, but really these are so simple you can pretty much do it to your taste and liking and not be harmed.

I usually keep mine in the freezer. They’re great frozen, and they’ll keep a long time there.

Oreo Cream Cheese Truffles

Photobucket

2 rolls Oreos (from a Costco box…I’d guess it worked out to about 2 cups crushed; I used regular Oreos, but you could easily use mint or whatever other flavors they’ve got out there)
1 cup cream cheese
1 cup chocolate chips
2 T olive oil

1) Crush the Oreos as you will. The finer you make it, the better, although chunky truffles are good too. I started out by placing them in a gallon freezer Ziploc bag and whacking/ rolling with a rolling pin, but that offered limited helpfulness. Then I tried smashing the cookies in a big bowl with a big spoon, and this works, but it hurt my hand and wrist. Opening my utensil drawer in frustration, my eyes landed on The Potato Masher. It was by far my favorite weapon.

2) Mix in cream cheese until it’s all uniform. Stick bowl in the freezer for at least 15 minutes. Layer a cookie sheet with wax paper.

3) Pull Oreo mixture out of freezer, and working quickly roll about a tablespoon of dough in your hands to form a ball. Place the balls on wax paper (depending on the warmth of the room, you may find the dough too sticky and soft to work with after a little while, so simply return it to the freezer to harden again). Insert toothpicks into each ball, then place cookie sheet in freezer for at least 15 minutes.

4) Melt chocolate chips and oil in microwave-safe bowl or on the stovetop. Stir to smooth it out, then again working quickly, remove balls from freezer and dip them half way (or entirely) in the chocolate. Return them to the wax paper.

5) Return cookie sheet to freezer, and once the chocolate coating has hardened enjoy or move to freezer Ziploc bag for longer storage!

One thought on “Oreo Cream Cheese Truffles

Leave a Reply

