Candied Yams

I have never liked candied yams. They often have too much sugar, and I could never get passed the look of marshmallows on top. It just looked and smelled…disgusting (apologies to anyone reading this who likes it). When I found out that candied yams was one of the Dearliest’s favorites, I was surprised. Very, very surprised. Then I discovered the candied yams he grew up with is entirely different than what I was used to, and I’m happy to say I really enjoyed these! Very unique flavor, not too sweet, just the right amount of tang, and oh yeah, nearly impossible to mess up.

Once again, the recipe is courtesy my dear sister-in-law! You can really use as much or as little concentrate as you want, and I suppose too it would vary depending on the size of your yams. We used two medium sized yams that covered maybe 2/3 of a 9×9 pan, and 1 cup of concentrate was just about perfect. Also, my yams started browning way too early, so I covered them with foil, took it off for the last 15 minutes, and they ended up a gorgeous golden brown.

Candied Yams

Photobucket

2 yams
3/4 – 1 cu orange juice concentrate, thawed

1) pre-heat oven to 400 degrees
2) peel yams and slice 1 1/2″ – 2″ thick, layer in bottom of baking dish
3) pour orange juice concentrate over yams
4) bake 35-40 minutes, until fork easily pierces yams

One thought on “Candied Yams

  1. Oh, oops, I did forget to mention covering them. Glad you remedied this on your own. 🙂 I’m glad you liked them. They are one of my favorites!T.W.

Leave a Reply

