Hungarian Green Apple Stuffing

This for me has always been a favorite at Thanksgiving, and this year I wanted to try something new so I asked my dear sister-in-law for some assistance. She provided me with a beautiful and tasty recipe, and it is by far the best stuffing I’ve ever had. I don’t know that I’ll be able to make anything else from now on! Even the Dearliest, who informed me before the fact that stuffing was on the bottom of his list, declared it a little more than tolerable.

I halved the recipe TW gave me, and I probably should’ve quartered it because this still made a LOT. Also, I didn’t have time to make my bread, so I ended up using a bag of bread cubes from a store bought stuffing mix.

Hungarian Green Apple Stuffing

Photobucket

1 loaf homemade bread, sliced, toasted and cubed
1 1/2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and diced
3/4 cu celery, sliced thinly
3/4 cu onion
1/4 cu chopped pecans or 1/2 cu chestnuts

1/2 cu water
1/2 cu pineapple or apple juice
1/4 cu oil
1 T sage
1 t salt
1 T fresh parsley or 1 t dried

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
2) Combine first 5 ingredients in large bowl.
3) In separate bowl mix remaining ingredients.
4) Gradually drizzle liquid mixture into bread mixture, tossing well.
5) Pour into greased baking dish, cover and bake 20-25 minutes.
6) Remove covering and bake another 10-15 minutes, until lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

