Pumpkin Maple Pie

I like pumpkin pie, but I have never been able to eat very much of it because most of the pumpkin pies I’ve encountered over the years have been entirely too sweet. This year I decided to try to make my own, and I was most pleased with the results. I had TWO pieces over the course of the evening, and I could’ve eaten more! I might try reducing the ginger a little next time. I liked it, but then I like ginger more than a lot of people.

This is a very slight modified version of this recipe.

Pumpkin Maple Pie

[Picture Forthcoming]

1 1/2 cu pumpkin puree (1 15 oz can, or about 1/2 a 29 oz can)
1/2 cu packed brown sugar
1 1/4 t ground cinnamon
1 t ground ginger
1 t ground nutmeg
1/4 t ground cloves
1/8 t ground allspice
1/2 t salt
2/3 cu maple syrup
1 1/4 cu half-and-half cream
1 t all-purpose flour
3 eggs
1 9″ unbaked pie shell

1) pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
2) in large bowl mix pumpkin puree, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, and salt
3) stir in maple syrup, half-and-half, and flour
4) add eggs one at a time, stirring well after each addition
5) pour mixture into unbaked pie shell.
6) bake for 1 hour, or until toothpick inserted halfway between edge and center comes out clean (middle may still be a little jiggly)
7) let cool on wire rack, for best results refrigerate at least 1 hour

One thought on “Pumpkin Maple Pie

  1. Pingback: The Advent of Fall Part 1: Pie | Creative Wending

Leave a Reply

