Valentine’s Day Tea

Today I hosted a Valentine’s Day Tea!

Tea–as in the event of sitting down with other people and drinking hot beverages with a finger food or two–is a nigh weekly thing with the local family. Occasionally we spruce it up a little, especially for birthdays or other special occasions. Like today!

I invested a little time in decorating…


(You will have to excuse the dirty window and the shocking lack of snow. February? Really??)

(Okay, a lot of time considering I was also kid chasing two toddlers, mothering a 4 month old, and trying to work through seven loads of laundry.)

…went for some fancier delicacies…

And you know, it was lovely. In the last year especially I’ve made a point of trying to slow down a little and not get so caught up in details that I fail to enjoy the fruit of the work. It’s not easy, but I’m learning, and I’m relishing* the process.

Tea Lineup:
Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting
Mascarpone Cheese Brownies
– Egg Salad Sandwiches (provided by the lovely TW)
Cheese & Onion Bannock (also provided by TW)
– Tetley Tea for the adults
– Camomile Tea for the wee folk

*As an afterthought, relishing is a strange word. I realize it’s quite different from the green condiment, but I can’t shake the mental image. It’s like it throws a hotdog into an otherwise very mannerly post (manners and tea, to me, are like this) and starts suggesting we roast the brownies over a bonfire or something.

Maybe I shouldn’t analyze language so much. Or maybe I should simply give this tired brain some REST before I start dissecting Pratchett. 😛

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Tea

  1. What a lovely table! What a sweet tradition! What pretty pictures you take! What M family event would be complete without a few hard boiled eggs? 😉 I know what you mean about relishing. First, I use that word all the time, so hot dogs never occured to me. haha. And second, I have been trying to relish more myself. OK, now I AM thinking about hot dogs… hmm.Thank you for posting, it's always good to "visit" with you! ❤

Leave a Reply

