Unexpected

I have kept an online journal for 10 years. It has been a wonderful experience, and I never thought that I would leave the place that has kept my words safe for so long. Sometimes, though, circumstances arise to challenge what you believe in and stand for, and then you’re faced with a choice. Only in this case, I don’t really view myself as having a choice. If I’m willing to compromise on my beliefs and moral code, then what’s the point in having them?

Thusly, WordPress will soon become my new journal home, not just for hobby posts but my daily life posts as well. In some ways I feel this is a good thing, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’m about to lose something important. Some of the most valuable lessons I learned happened through my journal, and while I have a backed up copy, it’s just…it’s not going to be the same. Almost 3,000 entries, and now they’ll just be a computer file.

Only there’s really nothing “just” about that, is there? I can’t feel too sad about it, really. I just think about why I’m leaving and there’s no question in my mind that it’s the right thing to do. To me that’s the easiest kind of hard decision to make.

I see I could ramble on this for some paragraphs yet, but I think I’ll stop here. There’s little left to be said, and my breakfast is ready. 😛

ETA: I do not, in any way, mean to suggest a judgement of others who have not made the same choice I have. Upon re-reading this I could see such an interpretation and that is not my intent at ALL.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected

Leave a Reply

