Potato Pancakes

One of my favorite comfort foods is potatoes. Mashed, stuffed, baked, curried, scalloped, souped…it’s all good. I have yet to meet a potato dish I didn’t like, but this is one of my favorites. I haven’t made it in quite a while, as for about 4 months it was a weekly (sometimes bi-weekly) meal during the oven-less period. That was almost a year ago, though, and tonight seemed like a good night to pull the recipe out from the dark recess in which I’d thrown it.

Only I didn’t exactly pull out the recipe, because I couldn’t find it. Oops. I’ve made it enough times that I knew I could wing it, so what I’m presenting is an estimation of my winging of a recipe. The original recipe is from The Joy of Cooking.

ETA: I found my book and have adjusted quantities accordingly. I was really close in my guesstimate!

Image

Potato Pancakes

Combine in a large bowl:

  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons flour
  • 1 Tablespoons onion, minced
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 3-4 potatoes, peeled and grated (about 2 cups)

Heat a good amount of vegetable oil in a cast iron skillet on med-high heat, and once the oil is hot drop in spoonfuls of the mixture, flattening it out to about 1/4″. Cook until underside is golden brown, then flip (carefully!) and cook the other side. Traditional toppings are sour cream and/or applesauce, but simple salt and pepper is good too!

Typically, I like to use green onions because it makes for a nice presentation. I didn’t have any tonight, though, so I used yellow onion and added a few chives from my garden for color.

Also, I believe the original recipe suggests you remove as much moisture from the grated potatoes as possible (by pressing it with a towel, if I remember correctly) before adding it to the mix. I never do this and have yet to see or taste any adverse effects, excepting perhaps a puddle in the bottom of the mixing bowl.

Finally, this works with pre-cooked potatoes as well. The texture will be different (it’s not so crispy), but the flavor is still wonderful. Mashed or baked potatoes left overnight in the fridge make for some excellent breakfast pancakes!

3 thoughts on “Potato Pancakes

  1. I’m so glad you posted this recipes! I’d been keeping the idea in the back of my mind that I wanted to make these in CO – but never got around to asking you for the recipe. I’ll have to do these for Nannie while I’m there this time! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Potatoes, Onions, and Zucchini! | Creative Wending

Leave a Reply

