A Walk on Belfast

Those who’ve been reading my blog for a while know several things about my musical background.

1) I grew up in a very musical home. Everyone in my family plays at least two instruments.

2) If I’m not listening to or playing classical music, Celtic is probably what you’re hearing.

3) My list of “instruments to learn to play one day” consists of harp, French horn, and one other that’s escaping my mind at the moment (which is actually kinda horrifying since I’ve had this list established since I was 17).

Anyway, I recently put on a Celtic harp cd (in fact, I think it’s called Celtic Harp), and while it’s one I’ve listened to a great deal, it’s been a while. I’d forgotten how much I loved one of the tracks, and guess what? There’s a YouTube video of a harpist performing it so I get to share it with you!

I originally searched YouTube to see if someone had transcribed “A Walk on Belfast” for piano, but it looks like I’ll have to do it for myself. That or use the piece as incentive to learn to play harp, but that could be rather expensive since I don’t have a harp yet!

Enjoy.

(It has a lengthy intro, which I think is lovely but if you’re impatient skip to 1:34.)

Leave a Reply

