Pancakes

The other day I made pancakes for breakfast. While the pancakes were cooking I started some bread dough, but then I had to leave the kitchen unexpectedly (three kids, go figure). When I returned to the kitchen I paused for just a moment, because this is what I saw:

It was easy enough to figure out, but I still made a mental note to Not Do That Again. It did drive me to wonder what would happen if I tried to make pancakes out of the first stage of my bread dough, but I can’t claim to be curious enough to actually try it.

Anyway. Pancakes!

When I married the Dearliest and moved out of my parents’ home, I took a number of recipes with me, and through the years I have tweaked all of them in some respect to suit my whimsy.  Except one. This one. It’s that good, and nearly everyone who has ever had these pancakes raves about them. It’s one of my most requested recipes, and guess what! Today I’m sharing it here.

Pancakes

Heat about a tablespoon of oil in your frying pan(s) over medium heat. In a large bowl sift together:

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 ½ teaspoons baking powder

In a separate bowl combine:

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 cups milk

Stir the wet mixture into the dry mixture until smooth. Ladle the batter into the skillet(s) and cook 2-3 minutes per side or until golden brown.

Serves 4-6. Leftovers toast up well.

Leave a Reply

