Musical Discovery

What was I thinking, trying to make a weekly post on a specific topic? I must have had a momentary lapse of mental faculties, because 1) the second I make a commitment like that I’m pretty much dooming it to failure. I always have good intentions, but they never stick, as evidenced by the ONE POST. *eyeroll* 2) My updating is so unpredictable and dependent on what kind of the day the kids and I are having that trying to schedule one post let alone a weekly one is, honestly, laughable to the highest extreme. Seriously. And 3) I get bogged down in “what do I share next?” because the truth is, there will always be more music out there than I have the capability to write about. You’re never going to see everything I want you to see, and this can be discouraging. Not in a “what’s the point of even trying” way, but trying to decide what to share with the understanding that something else might never even see the journal is HARD.

So forget that. If I want to share something, I will, and today is a day for it! The kids and I blew the morning utterly and completely by watching all the videos by ThePianoGuys.

I’m not going to go into great length talking about them because I don’t think I could do them justice. I will say that I generally don’t like popular music as a genre (there are, of course, exceptions), but the kind of covers ThePianoGuys do I can get behind. If you like the two videos I’m sharing here I strongly encourage you to check out the other ones. They do amazing work, and the cinematography is just as stunning (neither of these videos are outdoors, but they have quite a few videos in various outside settings). Bourne Vivaldi is the other one I’ve been watching a lot, and LK’s favorite is their cover of Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years” (I haven’t heard the original, but the cover is absolutely lovely).

Leave a Reply

