Project 2013

I designated 2012 “The Year of the Sewing Machine”, although in the end I think it’ll be more like a half year of sewing….I’ve been taking a break to focus on other things, and at this point I don’t know if I’ll get back to it before the year’s end or not. I dunno about your families, but around here things start going nutso in October and never really slow down until February. Between the holidays and something like 8 birthdays in December and January (including mine! eep!), I tend to have a lot to do. All this to say, my plan is to finish Project Emerald and then not tackle anything huge in the sewing department for a while.

Once THAT is done, I will do Something Else I Have Never Done. I love the look of scrapbooked things, but I’m not very gifted at looking at a blank page and coming up with really cool designs and stuff. After reading a bunch of “helpful hints” and tutorials and tricks and browsing all kinds of photos of finished projects, I tried one page of my own. Once. After a couple hours of manipulating my pieces I was still unhappy with it and gave up in frustration. That was several years ago.

Then I learned about altered books from a long-time librarian friend of mine, and I fell in love with the concept. She recently posted a 4-part tutorial on her process for altering books (she makes them into travel journals because she travels a lot). I like how she uses what she has on hand, and the way she presents it makes me feel like it’s something I can do.

Thusly, I have decided to make it my goal for 2013 to make four altered books–one for my wedding, and one for each child. I haven’t decided on the level of content (photos? no photos? spanning weeks? years?), but the good news is that I’m still quite a few months away from starting so I have time to think about it.

In the meantime, I continue to work through my yarn stash. Another skein bites the dust!

‘Tis a wool headband that will keep my ears warm this winter. I’ve made several of these over the last couple years for various people, and I decided it was high time I made one for me! I have longish (and getting longer) hair, which means that it’s often up if there’s any kind of wind (which, given where we live, happens a lot). As it gets colder a hat isn’t always going to mesh with pulled up/ back hair, so this will be a good alternative.

 

Leave a Reply

