Trip Pics

I didn’t take a lot of photos or video, mostly because I’ve learned that the more pictures I take at an event, the less connected I feel to what happened once I get to the end of it. I took a few in order to remember some of the happenings, and I confess to regretting not taking a few more of friends I visited, but I feel like I was there as a participant, not as an observer, and that’s a good thing!

This is the storm front we hit within an hour of leaving home. I thought it was pretty coming upon it, but then it gave me a nasty migraine that lasted a miserable hour. I ended up not being too impressed after that.

The sunset the first night after a long, long day of driving. We were in Nevada and Squeaky revealed to everyone that she doesn’t sleep in motels very well. Or at all, as the case happened.

Our first full day in California was my grandmother’s birthday, so we spent a fair amount of time over at her house. Aunt K took us behind the house down the creek access, where many many ducks awaited. LK and Pokado had a blast feeding them, and even Squeaky tried to get involved by attempting to taste the hen scratch. Yick.

Ducks are greedy things.

That night we went to a Thai restaurant that has been one of my family’s favorites for as long as I can remember. The family who own/ runs it is delightful and have, I think, more or less adopted my grandmother as their own. It was wonderful to see the place and the people, and I definitely got my Thai food fix!

The next morning the Dearliest and I were out for a walk by my parents’ place and encountered this gorgeous fella.

Then we chased him off so he wouldn’t eat any of my mom’s plants. 😀

Later that day we found ourselves back at GG’s/ Aunt K’s, and it was a beautiful afternoon.

Pokado found some plastic baskets and carted them around for a while, even though they were as big as her and probably weighed at least half of what she does.

LK found a little dump wagon so Aunt K put him to work picking up leaves. It kept him busy for over ten minutes, if I remember correctly!

Squeaky hammed it up from the deck with GG and an obliging pig watering can. The child is amused by some of the simplest things…

Commence wagon rides.

Grandma R feeds a ravenous banana-loving Squeaky.

Our last day we went to the coast, and I didn’t realize until we got there how much I’d missed it!

The Dearliest with LK and Pokado.

 

LK promptly fell in the water and got soaked, but he laughed and laughed and never really stopped the whole afternoon.

Pokado had to be coaxed into liking the water, but she came around.

Aaaaaand Squeaky. I’m still not sure if she really liked it or was just determined to not be shown up by her older siblings!

I don’t know if there are any pictures of me or not, so I’ll have to check with the Dearliest on that. Even if there are they may not show up here, since I’m kinda camera shy. 😛

Hope everyone is having a good week, and take care until next time!

One thought on “Trip Pics

  1. Looks like you all had a great time. My Big J is like LK, he LOVES the sea, has to fall over and get soaked but then he plays in it and rolls in it! He’s a joy to watch. Little J only started liking it this year, before he wouldn’t go near. He still doesn’t roll in it like Big J though.

Leave a Reply

