Canning Season is Officially Over

Or it will be in approximately 4 minutes, at any rate.

After a bountiful summer, generous family members, lots of standing time and too much movie-time for the kids, the tally checks in as follows, in no particular order:

  • Peach Chutney–4.5 pints
  • Peach Preserves–17 pints
  • Sliced Peaches–13 quarts
  • Mock Mincemeat–9.5 quarts
  • Elderberry Juice–34 quarts
  • Spiced Plum Jam–7 pints
  • Spiced Yellow Plum Jam–2.5 pints
  • Green Plum Jam– 1/2 pint
  • Apricot Preserves–9 pints
  • Raspberry Jam–1.5 pints
  • Raspberry Chipotle–3.5 pints
  • Rose Hip Jelly–1.25 pints
  • Grape Jelly–5.5 pints

If you were to ask me right now if I’m doing this again next year I would probably give you a crazed woman look and exclaim something along the lines of, “NEVER. EVER. AGAIN.”

But, realistically, by the time next summer rolls around I’ll probably have forgotten the sore back, the sore feet (I’ll probably excuse those as pregnancy related rather than kitchen related anyway), and the hot steam.

For now I’m looking forward to doing something other than canning (anything other than canning), and I have serious plans for all the space I now have in my freezer. Like ice-cream.

 

 

Leave a Reply

