Ginger Molasses Cookies

About a month ago I bought a hunk of fresh ginger. Wait. That’s so not the right word. Chunk? That doesn’t seem right either, but at least it’s closer. Heh. My intention was to use it in peach chutney, but I bought a big enough rhizome to do other stuff with it too, because I like ginger in moderation. I told LK at the time that we should try making ginger cookies, but he’d have to remind me because ginger cookies usually aren’t at the forefront of my mind. Or even at the backfront. In fact, I’ve only had one type of ginger cookie that I liked at all (and I’ve tried quite a few because I have both family and friends who looooooove ginger), but generally I hear “ginger cookie” and stop listening while looking for the nearest chocolate whathaveyou.

Thusly, a month or maybe more passed, I made the chutney and forgot about the leftover ginger root, and so it probably would still be had LK not found the root yesterday while getting me some potatoes. “Mommy! Look!” he held it up gleefully, “We need to make ginger cookies!”

A promise is a promise, so today I looked around for a fresh ginger cookie recipe. They seem to be much less common than recipes using dried ground ginger, but everything I’ve read says that fresh ginger adds something to the cookies that takes them to another level. Prepared to test the statement, I made them. And you know what? They were right. I don’t think I’ve ever had fresh ginger cookies before, but now I plan on having lots and lots.

I think I found my new favorite non-chocolate cookie recipe.

Fresh Ginger Molasses Cookies

The recipe is from AllRecipes.com, although I used brown sugar instead of refined white. I did roll the dough in white sugar before baking.

Another recipe I want to try in the future (after I get a lemon to zest) is this one. Slightly different, but sounds amazing.

 

2 thoughts on “Ginger Molasses Cookies

  1. Another yummy thing to do with fresh ginger, and the little ones might like this too, is to make Ginger and Sultana Scones. Sultanas are just golden raisins. I used candied ginger but finely chopped fresh ginger would work too. Just substitute the ginger and sultanas for whatever else it is you put in a scone — blueberries, currants, whathaveyou — and voila! I had Ginger Sultana Scones while having tea in Canada and rushed home to make some for myself. They’re easy, deelish, and delightfully different. 😀

Leave a Reply

