A “Duh” Moment and sort-of recipe.

Being pregnant guarantees a few things for me, but only one is the topic of this post–the need for nigh continual intake of protein in order to maintain a sense of stability. My breakfast for weeks now has been 2 scrambled eggs, turkey bacon, and breakfast potatoes. I wasn’t thrilled with the three dirty pans at the end of the cooking, and I’m kicking myself for not realizing sooner that I could modify the method to cook everything in one pan.

If a leftover baked potato isn’t available, I scrub a potato, pierce it with a fork, and microwave for I don’t know how long (I have a “baked potato” button that works well…I’m guessing 2-3 minutes?). While it’s microwaving I heat a little olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat.

Cube potato, throw into skillet, and let cook for a few minutes. Chop up turkey bacon (or breakfast meat of choice…I would only do this with pre-cooked stuff, btw…if it’s raw then that should be cooked separately) into small pieces, then toss in with the potatoes.

Meanwhile mix two eggs in a small bowl, add a little milk if desired. Move potatoes/meat to sides of pan and drop a pat of butter in the middle. Once melted, pour in the eggs. Sprinkle grated cheese over top if desired. Start stirring everything up, and then stir occasionally until the eggs are cooked. Salt and pepper to taste. Done!

The lovely thing is I can easily add vegetables if I want to (often I make this for the kids at the same time, so I frequently leave veggies out since one child will only eat them if they’re invisible). I throw hard veggies in before the potatoes (onions, broccoli stems, peppers, etc), softer veggies in with the turkey bacon (green onions, broccoli crowns, mushrooms, etc).

It’s essentially a scrambled frittata, and I like it because it messes up one pan and doesn’t require extra baking. I know I can’t be the first person to do this by any means, but I’m wondering why I haven’t seen it before with all the cooking places I haunt. Everyone’s all wild about quiches and frittatas and fancier presentations, and yes, the scramble might not look as pretty, but you can’t beat it for ease, and the flavor is just as good!

ETA: This marks my 100th post! Yay!

Leave a Reply

