Birthday Fish Cake for Pokado

When I asked Pokado what she wanted for a birthday cake, she didn’t hesitate to say a fish cake. We looked on Pinterest for ideas and she gravitated towards all the Nemo cakes, but I didn’t really want to do a Finding Nemo theme so I refined the search a little to keep it more focused on ocean-y things. There are a lot of really neat cakes out there, I must say!

And so I found a picture of a tropical fish that I liked with a shape simple enough I felt confident I could cut it out of cake. I also found a tutorial on how to cut shapes out of cake, because I’ve never done that before. It was a little intimidating, but I know my cake recipe and how it handles (I’ve used the same recipe for chocolate cake since I was 12), which helped.

End result?

IMG_6309_resize IMG_6313_resize

I felt it came off well, given that my goal was spending no more than 3 hours on assembling and decorating. As a perfectionist it’s waaaaay too easy to get caught up in all the little details and never be happy with the result. I tried not to do that this time!

 

Leave a Reply

