Threads and Yarns

A crafty post, this is.

First! I’ve continued in my crochet storm, but that slowed down considerably several days ago when I went to my yarn stash and realized I’d used up all the nicer, larger quantity yarns. I was (still am) somewhat at a loss what to do with all the 1/4-1/3 skeins I have left, so they’ll probably end up sitting around until I decide to try my hand at Amigurumi or something. I spent about a day with itchy fingers…what to do now? Then! One of my sister-in-laws called me up to say a) she was getting rid of a bunch of yarn (cotton, wool, and wool blends), b) she wanted to get me a birthday present, and c) was yarn something I would like?

Oh. YES.

IMG_6895

I should be set for a while. I immediately took to the green and yellow, I can’t really explain why, other than I thought of the brown I have with no use for and got inspired.

IMG_6898

I’ll be ordering some brighter yellow soon for some contrast, but I’m really liking the idea of a sunflower afghan.

On the threads topic, we have a Project: Emerald update! Not only that, but I bring pictures to share of the finished blocks.

IMG_6810IMG_6814 IMG_6813 IMG_6812

Each block is 12.5″x14″, so once it’s all sewn together I should be looking at a quilt between a queen and a king…if I did the math right. I’m kinda waiting to see on that!Since taking these pictures, I sewed all the rows, but then I discovered I was one block short and got mad because the material I have left is very limited. I threw it all back into my project bag, threw the bag into a dark corner, and I haven’t looked at it for going on 4 days now. I may get it out today and just buckle down and finish it, but we’ll see.

We are tired today and may just nap instead. 😛

Leave a Reply

