March 24th and all is well…

No, no baby yet. The last week has seen some wild, weird weather (one day we got rain, snow, hail, more rain, and 50+ degree weather all within a few hours of each other), and it brought on some wild Braxton Hicks, but they didn’t progress and left with the storm fronts. Apparently Baby yet requires some time!

And so I take it one slow day at a time, enjoying these final days, looking forward to the adjustments ahead.

The kids and I experimented the other day with homemade play dough. It’s been on my “mommy list” to try, and I’m really happy with the results. I used this recipe that I found off Pinterest, and the consistency was vastly superior to the store stuff (that didn’t even last beyond a few uses).

IMG_6959

Pokado is fond of making snakes. LK was more into snowmen and dinosaurs. I have definite plans to make more batches in other colors…once I get cheaper table salt. I can’t justify using so much Redmond salt in play dough, I’m afraid!

The window planters are progressing nicely, especially once the Dearliest replanted them with new seeds. After two weeks, this is what we have in the dining room, unofficially designated “his planters”.

IMG_6960

Top row: spinach, lettuce, radishes (the radishes are really happy…they’re also the only plants to germinate from the first seeding)
Bottom row: more spinach, baby carrots, more lettuce

The window planters in the entry (unofficially designated “her planters”) are about a week behind the Dearliest’s. I was preoccupied with a cold for a while. 😉

IMG_6962

Top row: Cilantro (one of the few things to germinate from the first seeding), I forget what else…shame on me. Once I remember I will label it! Edit: I remember! More lettuce!
Middle row: Tiny Tim tomatoes (The plants only get 6-8″ high! Can’t wait to see the tomatoes on such a creature…), thyme, more Tiny tomatoes
Bottom row: Basil, more basil, and green onions

The starter cups have been doing well, although within the first week we discovered a bunch of mold growing on the outside of the cups. A weakness of using toilet paper rolls, perhaps? Anyway, the Dearliest made up a peroxide spray that quickly killed the mold with one application and we’ve had no further trouble.

The first group (we’re at about 4 weeks): a variety of tomatoes, some squashes, a few flowers

IMG_6965

The second group (we’re at about 1 week): more tomatoes, vegetables, more flowers

IMG_6964

Thusly, my luck with indoor gardening seems to be changing. My track record with indoor plants is–like–way in the negative. Even if all these plants survive it won’t cancel out all the plants I’ve killed!

Now, for my last images, I’m posting a couple of those rarely seen pictures of yours truly under the guise of “record for posterity”. Here we are, sitting (or standing, as the case may be) at somewhere around 38 weeks.

IMG_6938_resize

I only got one picture before the children took note of the tripod, so of course more pictures ensued with everyone. Figures this would happen only hours before they all got haircuts! 😛

IMG_6950_RESIZE

And now I’m off to crochet a little, because the rest of my yarn arrived yesterday (for the afghan-in-progress) and I’m itching to get into it.

Further posts to come as events warrant!

2 thoughts on “March 24th and all is well…

  1. Lovely to see you all 😀 And great to see how your planters are doing, fantastic progress. 29th is a very good day to be born… I should know 😉
    Was it the cooked kind of homemade play dough?? Much better than bought and keeps for ages. Used to make it on a regular basis for school.

Leave a Reply

