Swingin’ and Groovin’

I am, as they say, getting back into them. The swing of things. The groove. The saddle. Not to say I never trip, fall, or spill, but a routine is finding me and I’m settling into it.

Finally!

Not that I can really complain, since it’s only been six weeks since TR arrived, but it’s been a really, really LONG six weeks. About 4 weeks of that we were all battling illnesses in one form or another, and that was starting to take it’s toll. Fortunately we’re all well/ nearly well now, but I unfortunately don’t remember a lot of the recent days.

Lucky for you, dear readers, I did remember to take some pictures.IMG_7174_resize IMG_7173_resize

The Dearliest bought some new safety equipment for times when one of his brothers helps him with tree work. Of course, the littles had to try them out first.

IMG_7180_resize IMG_7186__resize

We’ve been getting weather in the mid-70s lately, and the girls loved being able to get out their new summer dresses. The heat marked the end of the window planters, because watering 2x a day was a bit much for me to keep up with (and they really should’ve been getting more). Thusly, I transplanted all the herbs and tomatoes to pots and harvested the last of the spinach, lettuce, and baby carrots.

IMG_7171

Overall I was really happy with the planter experiment. Next time I will probably limit it to spinach and lettuces, with maybe some carrots. The basil and cilantro worked, but they grew incredibly tall and gangly, not bushy at all. The tomatoes were growing well with lots of blossoms, but no tomatoes yet. Hopefully they’ll continue to be happy in a pot on the porch!

The second sunflower afghan continues, but I ran out of a color and had to order more. While I waited for it to arrive, I took to the next crafty project that’s been floating around in my head for a while. I may have mentioned all that felt that I unburied in my room? After asking a couple of sister-in-laws for ideas, and then doing a general search on Pinterest for felt crafts, I landed on the concept of felt embroidery. Specifically, I discovered this gal, who I think does amazing work (side note: her Etsy shop is here). It truly was inspiring!

For my first attempt, I tried to adapt the artwork (learned from my mother) that I use on note cards.

IMG_7189

I really like how it turned out, even with all the mistakes (most of which you can’t see, but I KNOW THEY’RE THERE which bugs me but oh well). I essentially had to relearn all the embroidery stitches, because I haven’t done it since I was–like–14 or something. Fortunately I still have my Complete Guide to Needlework book with lots of pictures and good directions, so it wasn’t too hard to remember.

Having learned a lot from the first go-around, I set out with a second design:

IMG_7190

It’s not finished yet, but that one will be shop-bound when it is.

And then my yarn showed up, so I’m wrapping up the sunflowers now too!

As a comment, I’ve had people ask where I find time to work on all this stuff with three children 4 and under AND a newborn. Well, the answer is multifaceted. Usually it’s a matter of 15-30 minutes during the day, and the kids have some craft or drawing they’re doing at the table with me. Then I generally have 30 minutes to an hour in the evenings for something fun, and if I’m not reading, computing, or cooking something sweet, then I’m crocheting. I can’t do embroidery at night because my eyes aren’t that great, alas. Sometimes I find the time by not doing laundry, dishes, or other household chores, but I try not to do that too much. 😛

 

3 thoughts on “Swingin’ and Groovin’

  1. I can see why you were inspired and your felt creations are great. The summer dresses are very pretty, I especially like the fabric of the blue one. Sometimes I think craft things save my sanity and therefore its necessary to ignore the chores 😉

  2. SUPER CUTE! I love the owl. Nice work!
    I have some vague memory of either embroidering with you or having something embroidered by you, but either way, it is interesting to me that when I look at your work it looks *familiar* to me. 🙂
    Hearing you are having to allot minutes to things instead of hours sounds very familiar too – that’s the way we work around here!
    Miss you!

Leave a Reply

