On Joining the Sunflower Afghan

Lookee!

IMG_7458 IMG_7454

I remembered to take some pictures as I joined the blocks together, so I can share with you how I did it in pictures as well as words. You’ll have to forgive the text on some of the pictures. I wasn’t sure how I was going to present this at first, and then in the photo tweaking I forgot to save the original pics. Oops. Also, I use crochet abbreviations. If you need a translation let me know.

Method for Joining Granny Squares with Single Crochet and Minimal Ends to Weave In

Step 1: Make and finish your blocks. Perhaps a “well, duh!” statement, but you know I like to be thorough. šŸ˜›

IMG_7307

Step 2: Stack two blocks together with the right sides (RS) facing outwards. Line up the stitches. (For details’ sake, each of my corners were comprised of 3dc-ch2-3dc).

IMG_7310

Step 3: With your joining yarn (I’m using yellow, obviously), sc in the ch2 space of the front block only. Then sc in the ch2 space of the back block only. Sc into the first dc on the front block. Sc into the SECOND dc on the back block. Basically, once you establish stitches in the corners, you alternate stitches between the front and back blocks down the whole edge in a sort of zig-zag pattern. When you make a stitch in the front block, you skip the coordinating stitch on the back block. Hopefully that makes sense?

IMG_7315

Step 4: Joining corners. You can see in the picture above that my last stitch on the first two blocks is on the back block. I then just lined up two more blocks started the process over again, starting with the front corner. Continue this until the row is complete. Cut yarn. Repeat from Step 2 with remaining blocks.

IMG_7320IMG_7321

Step 5: Going the other way. Continue with the same method as before. When you come to a “crossroad”, simply crochet over the joint already there.

IMG_7367 IMG_7369

Make sure to keep the tension tighter on the yarn. A loose stitch here could mean am uneven appearance or a hole in the joining.

IMG_7371

And that’s it!

IMG_7366

As for the ends, you can either weave them back into the joining stitches or into the edging if you have one.

I chose to weave them back a couple stitches in the joining, then wove it back out in order to crochet it into the edging (which was also yellow). Maybe overkill, but if I’ve learned one thing about baby blankets (which this one is), it’s that they get washed a LOT and go through some serious wear. The longer and more secure the ends, the better!

Note: I don’t have pictures of this part, but if you put an edging on, you DO crochet in the edge stitch of the joining yarn. I at first tried skipping over it (and only edging on the green), but it made for little bumps so I scrapped that idea.

IMG_7469

This joining method gives a little texture to the blanket, but I kinda like that!

Anyways, hopefully this proves useful or helpful for someone who dislikes sewing blocks together as much as I do! I can’t imagine I’m the first to come up with this, but I’ve not seen a tutorial for a crocheted joining method with minimal end-weaving before. I’d be curious to see or hear about other crocheted joining methods, if anyone has links or personal methods to share.

One thought on “On Joining the Sunflower Afghan

  1. That’s excellent. I’m looking into different ways to join blocks in preparation for finishing the CAL. I haven’t seen that way before, it’s rather pretty.

Leave a Reply

