I remembered!

I told you there was something else!

About a year ago I heard about this thing called oil pulling, where first thing in the morning, before eating or drinking anything, you take about a tablespoon of oil and swish it around in your mouth for 15-20 minutes. There’s supposedly a list of benefits to this, but I was extremely skeptical and dismissed it and then forgot about it.

Last week I read an article on it that had some scientific study behind it and thought, “Hmm, maybe I’ll give this a try after all.”

I haven’t quite made up my mind completely, but here’s what I can tell you. After doing it 4 times in the last week (I’ve been using coconut oil), my teeth are whiter, and my gums are a happy pink and aren’t bleeding anymore when I brush. This is significant, since I’ve ALWAYS had trouble with bleeding gums, even going back to when I was a kid. For the first time in my life, NO BLEEDING.

I’ll probably revisit this subject after another few weeks and let you know how it goes.

2 thoughts on “I remembered!

  1. I keep hearing about oil pulling, and I’m sure it does have some benefits, but I can’t imagine swishing something around my mouth for 20 minutes! Actually, I can’t imagine doing it for even one minute. Can you talk about what that’s like and how you managed?

    • Yeah, the thought of a mouthful of oil was disgusting to me, so I decided to try a smaller amount for a shorter amount of time. The first day I only used about a teaspoon, and I couldn’t do it for more than 5 or so minutes. Second day was half a tablespoon for a little longer, third day a little more for a little longer. This morning was my fifth time and I’m up to a full tablespoon (I think…I don’t really measure) for 15 minutes. It’s actually not that bad, I don’t think. Much easier if I do it while I do something else (shower, get dressed, make breakfast, etc.).

      As for swishing, I don’t actively swish for 15 minutes. Your cheek muscles aren’t supposed to get sore, so I alternate between gently rolling it around with my tongue, a little swishing, and just holding it in my mouth.

      The other thing is that my teeth got really sensitive after the first use, and I almost quit because of that but decided to press on. It was gone by the fourth use, and so I think it may have just been a reaction to the initial detox.

Leave a Reply

