A handful of the things…

…I wish I’d said to various people during the college years. One line, one person. I left a lot of things unsaid. These are the ones I still think about on occasion.

Quit showing off your huge tattoo. It’s not cute.
I started playing piano when I was 4. You don’t need to be patronizing. I know more than you do.
Why don’t you come join us?
Please stop asking me out.
You’re my favorite lab partner because you’re quiet and smart.
I got an A because I study hard. You should try it!
I AM NOT ANOREXIC.
I appreciate you getting me out of that.
You’re trying too hard.
Please stop asking me out.
I never get tired of watching you run.
I’m not anti-social, I just pick my friends carefully.
I could help you if you’d let me.
What exactly do you mean by that?
I’m here to learn, not date or party.
Thank you for the encouragement. It made today bearable.
Please stop asking me out.
No.
Your writing is amazing and inspiring.
It’s time we went our separate ways.
I will not make you soup.
I hate this class, but it’s one of the best ones I’ve taken.
Why do you insist on annoying me?
I am going to miss you.

– – – –

I was not a very outgoing person back then. Even now I prefer to stand back and watch rather than get involved, but being married to the Dearliest has taught me (among other things) to be more direct in saying what I mean, meaning what I say, and to not be shy about standing for truth when pressed or asked. I kinda wish I’d had that level of confidence “back in the day”, but I figure gaining experience and personal growth is part of what life is all about.

4 thoughts on “A handful of the things…

  1. Seems to me like you had a lot of good sense when you were at college… Even if you did not say those things. Sometimes that confidence only comes when we are older and wiser 😉

    • I have been fortunate in finding good friends. 😀

      I’ve been perusing your blog. Very unique artwork! Mixing paper with fabrics and other media isn’t something I’ve tried doing, and I’m always amazed when I see how well it can all come together.

Leave a Reply

