Trip food without an ice chest

Hello readers! Here I am with a query for you. I’ve been working on my food list for the road trip, and this time we’ve decided to leave the big ice chest behind. We have a smaller one we’ll be taking, so I have plans to fill it with cheeses, pre-cut fruit and veggies, and maybe a few treats like pickles and a little half & half (for the Dearliest’s coffee stops).

I have budgeted for one or two bought meals (read: fast food), but the bulk of our eating will need to be fridge-free, so I’m looking for suggestions of good road trip foods! So far I have the following:

  • granola (eaten straight or I can buy yogurt as needed to put it in)
  • nuts/ seeds (peanuts, pecans, sunflower seeds
  • crackers?
  • bagels
  • trail mix
  • dried fruit
  • peanut butter
  • apples, bananas

ETA Other possibilities:

  • popcorn
  • cookies (because, you know, cookies!)
  • tomatoes? might be too messy

 

2 thoughts on “Trip food without an ice chest

Leave a Reply

