First Snow and Apple Green Tomato Crisp

A couple days ago we saw the first snowfall!

IMG_9094

As of today we have about an inch on the ground, although a lot of it melted off before I snapped a photo:

IMG_9103

Mostly likely we won’t see snow again until the end of the month, so I consider this a taste of what’s yet to come!

Most of the plants died back several weeks ago after the first frost, but I still have one creature that’s doing it’s best to hang on:

IMG_9105

The weather got me all anxious to make some cold-weather favorites (desserts, that is). I had a bunch of apples that weren’t much good for eating as well as a bunch of green tomatoes sitting in the cabin (we were hoping they’d turn off the vine, but most of them didn’t do that), so the Dearliest suggested an apple and green tomato crisp.

Having never done one before, I took to my recipe books and did a little hunting online. After about half an hour of study, I was pretty sure I hand a handle on what I wanted and moved to the kitchen.

IMG_9100

Apple Green Tomato Crisp

  • 4 ripe apples, peeled, cored, and chopped into 1″ pieces
  • equal amount (in volume) of green tomatoes (I used 6), chopped into 1″ pieces
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1/3 cup flour (I used whole wheat, you could easily use all-purpose)
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon all spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Topping:

  • ~ 3/4 cup butter, slightly chilled
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

1) Preheat oven to 375Ā° F.
2) In a large bowl thoroughly combine all ingredients (except topping ingredients). Pour mixture into an ungreased 9×11 pan.
3) In a separate bowl combine topping ingredients. I used my hands at the end. Crumble mixture evenly over the crisp.
4) Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes, or until the apples and tomatoes are tender, the topping is golden brown, and the crisp is bubbling.
5) Allow it to cool 15 or so minutes before serving. This allows the crisp to set up a little so it won’t be runny when you dish it up.

I didn’t have vanilla ice cream on hand, but that would have been an excellent addition, methinks!

5 thoughts on “First Snow and Apple Green Tomato Crisp

  1. What kind of flavor do the green tomatoes impart? I’m intrigued by the mixture of flavors you have here but I’m not sure whether I could stand too much “tomatoe-y” flavor, much less the acidity tomatoes might add. Tomatoes are something I’m not really able to eat because of the acid content. But, perhaps only ripe tomatoes have that degree of acidity. I don’t know. For example, I can eat salsa without much trouble but other tomato dishes leave me gobbling up Tums. Anyway, do your best to describe it please. šŸ™‚ I’m curious.

    • There’s not much tomatoe-y flavor, if any. The texture of it is similar to the apple when cooked…maybe a little crunchier.

      I didn’t know about the acidity so I did some reading and learned that the more unripe a tomato is, the more acidic it is. On top of that, once you start cooking tomatoes the acidity goes up even more. This may be why you can have salsas without too much trouble but not dishes with cooked tomatoes! šŸ™‚

  2. Interesting recipe but I can see it would work. My Grandma always used to make chutney with her green tomatoes… It was gorgeous. I would eat it on bread and butter or even straight from the jar. Pretty sure it had apples in too plus sugar, raisins and lots of spices so not too different. We have only just had our first frost, hopefully snow is still a long way off.

Leave a Reply

