Spinach Artichoke Dip

After more than a week of taking care of a sick Squeaky, I’m slowly working my way back to the land of the slightly more alive. We bowed out of the big family Thanksgiving festivities because of fevers and sinus infections, so I did what I could (in a most exhausted state) to put together a little dinner here. Not much tradition, I’m afraid, but I did make pumpkin pies so there’s that!

An up and coming favorite in the house is the Dearliest’s spinach artichoke dip, a Thing he devised last year after enjoying the dip from Costco but not wanting to spend the money on a regular supply. He studied the ingredient list, said something like, “I bet I could make this easily,” and got the major ingredients within the week. (As an aside, I do love watching him when he takes to the kitchen! He cooks largely by smell. He rummages through my spice cabinets [yes, I have more than one], opens up jars, makes a face, then either adds it to his creation or puts it back.)

He has made it a number of times over the last year, but attempts to write it down have been…not so successful. This Thanksgiving, however, I decided to tackle it and make notes and you know what? I FINALLY HAVE THE RECIPE! Certain members of the Dearliest’s family will be thrilled. Some of them have been asking for it since its first appearance last year!

I will have to take a picture the next time. I’m afraid I didn’t get to it before the dip disappeared! This uses ingredients bought Costco-style and therefore makes enough for an army.

Spinach Artichoke Dip

  • 1 pound spinach, coarsely chopped
  • 1 head of garlic, skinned and finely chopped
  • 1 pound Parmesan cheese, grated (you can use shredded, but the finer it is the better)
  • 1 (32 oz) jar of marinated artichoke hearts, drained and finely chopped
  • ~ 2 cups mayonnaise
  • oil for sauteing

1) Heat 1-2 Tablespoons of oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add spinach and saute until wilted. Add garlic and cook another minute, stirring frequently.
2) Transfer spinach and garlic to a large bowl and mix in cheese and artichokes. Add mayonnaise until desired consistency is reached.

For best results refrigerate at least 1 hour.
It’s good cold or warmed.
We like it with corn chips, but wheat thins or any other dip-able chip or cracker would probably work too!

Leave a Reply

