Purple flowers and freezing fog.

To skip the cake details and get on to the freezing fog, scroll down until you see the cake pic. If fog doesn’t interest you either, then why are you even here? 😛

So Pokado had a birthday! The little lady turned 4 and some months ago requested a purple flower cake. We took to Pinterest, I got some ideas, and I also decided to add another tool to my cakery. Well, tools, I suppose. I bought a fondant smoother and a set of 8 fondant/ gum paste modeling tools, and they look like they’re going to be a lot of fun! I only used one of the modeling tools in the flower making but am looking forward to finding excuses to use the rest.

IMG_9813_resize

YouTube is my new best friend for video tutorials. The modeling tools didn’t come with any instructions!

IMG_9815_resize

I think the next thing to add to the arsenal will be some molds/ cookie cutters. I have no flower shaped ones, but I did have a little star (used to make the little flower…a narcissus, mayhap?), and a heart (used to make the petals for the larger flower and most of the other flowers I experimented with).

The cake itself was a honey vanilla cake. It’s a very dense, yet moist cake. It has heavy cream in it. 😀 Kate wanted a raspberry filling so I opened up one of the last jars of raspberry preserves for it. The inside of the cake has a sort of bubble effect to the inside, and since I cut the rounded tops off it was perfect because the raspberry soaked into the air pockets a bit. Little bursts of raspberry everywhere! I forgot to take a picture of the cut cake and now it’s all gone. Oops.

Frosted in buttercream, then covered in purple fondant. I GOT THE FONDANT ON RIGHT THIS TIME!!! I referenced a few tutorial videos, corrected some things I’d been doing incorrectly, and for the first time ever I got a completely smooth cake! Then I tried something called Cornelli lace which…well, I will need more practice at that. Add the special purple flower, and Pokado was thrilled!

IMG_9840_resizeIMG_9846_resize

The lighting never got very good for pictures, I’m afraid. We were fogged in most the day.

This brings me to the next topic of my post, namely visual commentary on our 2+ week entombment in freezing fog (this is for you, Jessica! :-D). The result on the landscape is somewhere between frost and snow, for those of you not familiar with it. Something like the following:

IMG_9830_resize IMG_9861_resize IMG_9856_resize IMG_9837_resize

It melts with the barest hint of sunlight, blows off with the slightest wind. This morning, in the space of half an hour, the fog went from a thick blanket to non-existent and over half the white sheet on everything disappeared with it. The last forest-y picture is after the fog dissipated but before the sun reached it.

Amazing stuff.

2 thoughts on “Purple flowers and freezing fog.

  1. Beautiful cake!

    Thank you so much for these pictures! They’re fascinating. I love the one where you’re holding the branch or whatever it is. It reminds me of a duster or some sort of huge pipe cleaner. 😀 So cool.

Leave a Reply

