Purple Escape

As I was cleaning dishes the other day I noticed something was different with my purple shamrock.

IMG_0041

Not sure if it’s decided to go exploring or is trying tell me it needs a bigger pot.

– – – – – – –

Has anyone else tried this yarn?

IMG_0045

One of my dear sister-in-laws gave it to me for my birthday, and I’ve never seen anything like it! Fun and quirky (and, let us not forget, purple!). I had to do a little reading on how to work with it, though.

IMG_0048

It’s not like your garden variety yarn. I’m guessing it hasn’t been on the market super long, because I didn’t find a whole lot of projects on Ravelry. In fact, the only thing I could find was the scarf (and variations of the scarf) that comes on the yarn label.

Speaking of the label, it has a needle guide but no hook guide. I consider this a challenge for the future, but it may be futile. I’ve spent way more time than I’d like to admit thinking about how to crochet this yarn and I’ve got nothing. It would be possible if you combined it with regular yarn, but…well, I’m still thinking.

For now, I’ve been having fun with my becoming-scarf!

IMG_0049

You pick which color you want to knit into and work with the top couple rows of holes on that color. It leaves the other 2 colors free to ruffle and bounce. To change the color, you just twist the yarn at the end of a row and carry on.

IMG_0051

Here the bottom half or so has been fluffed and manipulated, so you can see how much more body the yarn takes on.

I could see this yarn being very frustrating for some people, but once I got the hang of it I found I rather enjoyed it!

One thought on “Purple Escape

  1. There is lots of this “scarf yarn” around here, it seems very popular. I imagine you would have a scarf in minutes although I haven’t tried it. Like you I haven’t read anything about what to do with it.

Leave a Reply

