Maybe I Can?

Those of you who follow me on Twitter know that I’m keeping up with Emma Approved, and Harriet Smith’s music club in particular. I will start by saying I’m still not sure what I’m thinking or doing. I don’t like being in spotlights or showing my face online much, and yet…I feel excited to be a part of this! The shy introvert is having a moment of extroversion! It feels weird.

After the first cover I realized I wanted to be able to do a couple things with the music in the form of multiple audio and video tracks. Windows Live Movie Maker didn’t have this capability, so I set out looking for free software that did. I honestly didn’t think I was going to find it, but then I discovered the VSDC Free Video Editor. (As a note, if you decide to check it out, make sure to decline all the extra offers that pop up during the installation process.)

It took me several hours of trial and error to figure it out (the software is completely free, but the paid version gets you access to help and tech support from the developers). There are several very useful tutorials on YouTube which made things much easier.

I’m still figuring it out (and still have to find the editor’s volume controls), and I have to learn how to add text and stuff to videos, but the long and short of it is that I made another cover!

 

The original:

 

It’s hard only working on an editing project like this for one hour a day (during the wee ones’ nap/ quiet time). Fortunately I had a couple nights where they went to bed early (and stayed in bed!!) and so I was able to spend a little more time on the project.

And then the wonderful Dearliest took them all for a long walk one afternoon so I could have a quiet house for a while to make recordings! That was a little strange, I have to admit. Normally I practice in the mornings with the little people about, which means noise! dancing! singing along!

The music club is on Pinterest too, which I think is super awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

