In which the children meet Anne Shirley

We all have colds that for a few days now have left us all manner of achy and blah. It’s really frustrating having enough energy to want to do stuff but not enough to actually do it.

Movies are usually reserved for sick time, and today I decided to pick one to watch with the wee folk. I’ve been getting in an Anne mood recently thanks to Green Gables Fables (yes, it’s another YouTube adaption of classic literature, what can I say, I dig it), so I decided to start Anne of Green Gables today and introduce the kids to one of my favorite characters.

Some of the more memorable reactions:

Anne speaks of spending the night in a cherry tree. Squeaky announces emphatically that she “likes that girl.”

Anne apologizes to Mrs. Lynde. At the end of it LK turns to me confused and asks, “Did she just say she was sorry?”

Gil calls Anne “Carrots” and gets hit over the head. Pokado starts giggling uncontrollably.

Gil calls Anne “Carrots” and gets hit over the head. LK gasps emotionally and cradles his head with his hands briefly before announcing he wants me to skip the scene.

Anne searches for the raspberry cordial and pulls out a bottle. LK wonders out loud, “Is that the wrong bottle?”

And then Diana gets sick. “I think that was the wrong bottle.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “In which the children meet Anne Shirley

  1. Cute responses! 🙂
    I have just recently (as in last week) finished reading all the Anne of Green Gables books except for #7 “Rainbow Valley”. I’d never read them before since my favorite book genre as a child was horror. I’m glad to have read them as an adult. I found them charming — very reminiscent of my own childhood. Did you know the Gravenstein apple grows in only three places on planet earth? It grows in Denmark where it originated, in Nova Scotia where Anne Shirley lived, and in Sonoma County, California. I don’t think I’d have found that connection as compelling if I’d read the books as a child. I haven’t seen the television series yet but I’m on a waiting list for the library copy.

    • The first two movies are excellent, but I’ll warn you about the third one (I don’t remember the name, but it was made something like 15 years after the first two). Same characters, but completely butchered/ made up storyline. I couldn’t even finish watching it. Just FYI. 🙂

  2. Brilliant. We have been revisiting a favourite childhood book of mine whilst we have been camping. We tend to all go to bed together at the same time once it’s got dark so needed a book suitable for a 6 yr old and a 9 yr old. We have been reading The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton (the first in the Faraway Tree series). Both boys are enjoying it. Don’t know if they are popular in the US??

Leave a Reply

