Life, Recently

I suppose in the grand scheme of things, little has actually happened. We’ve established a routine over the last few weeks, and it’s been kind of nice having a semblance of predictability. The kids always do better when they know what to expect in a day, and I’m finding I do too.

So, there was this wedding. The bride, my dear sister-in-law, asked to have all the nieces and nephews in the wedding. Very brave of her. All things considered, the kids did smashingly well! Sometimes literally. 😀

IMG_0896_resize

I’ll let you try to figure out which four are mine, but in the unlikely event you need some hints, LK is the oldest.

Also:

IMG_0899_resize IMG_0949_resize

My parents drove out for the wedding, so we got some good visiting time in with them. They brought some things with them, including a couple new puzzles for the wee folk.

IMG_1052_resize

And this is what happens when Pokado builds a “nest”:

IMG_1057_resize

We’ve had several strings of thunderstorms over the last couple months, and rainy days often mean tunnels and caves.

IMG_1058_resize

Otherwise our weather has been hanging out around 90° F, and in the mornings and evenings the kids get to play on the deck. Well, most of them.

IMG_1088_resize

Arc doesn’t always get to go out with them, but he takes it well.

The heat has been wonderful for my new rose, which my MIL gave me for my birthday. I was excited to hear it had purple blossoms, because you know, purple. I’ve gotten three flowers off it so far, and I’m so excited because each shade was DIFFERENT! The first one was almost a pink purple, the second was a true lavender, and the third I actually thought to take a picture of. It’s a bit darker than this, but the lighting was extreme.

IMG_1149_resize

I usually only have about an hour of “free” time during any given day, and for the last couple months those hours have all looked like this:

IMG_1066_resize

I have a total of 11 of those little notebooks, all full of dreams and story fragments. It’s kind of a mess, actually, but I’m slowly getting the stories more organized. For those of you reading One Rainy Day, the rest of it is all queued up and Pen Wending will release chapters every Sunday. Also, as a point of interest, there are only 7 chapters (well, 6 1/2 really), so I guess technically it’s a short story? My stuff never seem to break 100 pages.

At some point–it’s been long enough now I can’t remember when exactly–Squeaky gave me a little bit of a scare, but what I briefly thought to be a broken arm turned out to be a badly twisted elbow, and for 3 days she looked like this:

IMG_1062_resize

She seriously did not move out of the chair (or couch, or wherever we sat her down), and it was super strange to see little miss go-go forever stationery. She became quite possessive about her bag of frozen corn. At the end of the third day she moved the arm without really thinking about it and seemed quite shocked to discover it didn’t hurt anymore. She woke up on day 4, climbed out of her crib herself, and the world returned to normal.

Lastly, music things!

I’ve had opportunity to play around with my new recording microphone, and this was the first result:

I wrote Drop Nocturne when I was 14. It’s kind of choppy in places because I was playing around with the audio software and…well, you can read the video description if you really want to know. 😛

Then I recorded another Harriet Smith Cover:

 

Harriet’s Original:

2 thoughts on “Life, Recently

  1. All those tiny bridesmaids and pageboys…. Gorgeous. Little J broke his arm right when we were moving house (my mum and dad were looking after the boys), he kept pulling his cast off in the night. I lost count of how many times we had to go back to the hospital so they could put it back on. Eventually they put one on that went past his elbow (with his arm bent) so he couldn’t pull it off. So glad Squeaky’s arm was fine.

  2. Love the wedding picture with the little kids… they are so cute!!! Poor Squeaky – Didn’t hear about her arm. Glad it’s fine now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

