Rules of the Work

IMG_1928_resize

After two weeks of almost non-stop go on the house, I started finding myself exhausted by evening time. I was still excited about the progress and ready to tackle the boxes still waiting to be unpacked, but physically my body started protesting and rebelling and generally issuing all sorts of unhappy complaints.

And so I set two rules for myself: 1) Quiet/ nap time for the kids is quiet/ nap time for Mommy. No more working through it. (By the by, this blog post is brought to you by….dundunduuuun…QUIET TIME!) 2) Work stops at 9:30 pm. I found myself up at 11:00 too many nights catching up the dishes, or folding the last of the laundry, or unpacking just one more box…Not so great when the littles start tumbling out of bed at 7:00. (4:00 if you count wee Ann, who generally goes back to sleep after eating, but still. It’s an early wake up call.)

As someone who is ALSO trying to make more time for pleasure writing, crocheting, and making music, I’m hopeful these new rules will allow me a little extra freedom to pursue the hobbies a teeny bit.

We’ll see how this all goes.

Leave a Reply

