A story worth telling.

One day, my darling Pokado came to me with a picture she had drawn.

“It’s you and Dad on a walk with all of us!” She said.

“Why do Dad and I look so unhappy?” I asked.

She pointed to a small house in the corner, and in it was a swaddled infant. “Because you left the baby at the house and you’re sad and worried.”

“But all five of you are here, on the walk.”

“I know. This is the next one.”

Then she pointed to a figure on top. “But you don’t have to worry, see, because this is God, and he’s telling you not to worry. He’s saying he’ll take care of your baby.”

*

The next day I miscarried at 6 1/2 weeks and Pokado’s picture…well, I latched onto it. We hadn’t yet told anyone I was expecting, not even the kids, and I couldn’t help but feel God had given Pokado something precious. Once she’s older I’ll tell her.

I want to thank my family and the Dearliest’s family for all their support, and for being there to help during the hardest days. Thank you also, dear readers and friends, who have kept us in your prayers and thoughts. 

Things are getting better, slowly, one day at a time.

*

My soul still remembers, and sinks within me. This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning, great is Your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!”

 Lamentations 3:20-24 (NKJV)

2 thoughts on “A story worth telling.

Leave a Reply

