There is no Returning from these Trestles of the Heart

The Dearliest and I watch movies every so often, and the last two we tried proved surprising (as well as recommendable). They both had engaging stories, but what made them stand out was their settings. They hit pretty close to home. Literally.

tmp_11478-rafting-922337_1280-438124135The first was “River of No Return.” It had been on our watch list (AmazonPrime) for months, and for months I noted the preview picture, thought “I don’t think I’ll like that” and passed on to something else. At some point I began thinking “You know, it looks like you wouldn’t like it, but it’s probably good.”

And you know, it was, mainly for two reasons. Firstly, Robert Mitchum’s character had an outlook on life that reminded me of the Dearliest and his brothers. So much, in fact, that I found myself laughing in serious parts because that’s what the Dearliest would say. Or his brother. Or his other brother. Or…you get the picture.

Secondly, the real river of no return is our very own Salmon River! I didn’t know it was called that, and the Dearliest wasn’t positive in the beginning, but the first long shot of the raft going through the rapids…yeah, I’d seen that terrain before.

For a not-rated film, it does have some thematic elements, so I’d recommend parents preview it before letting kids watch it.

*

The second movie we watched was “Breakheart Pass,” which we chose based on its description as a “mystery thriller”* taking place on a train through a desolate, snowy frontier. Who doesn’t like a good old-fashioned steam engine?tmp_5854-train-19640_12802-839046062

The story intrigued me from the beginning, but as the movie progressed and the train continued on its tracks, a nagging thought kept distracting me.

“This could have been filmed in Idaho,” the Dearliest commented half way through.

“I know!” I said.

And that impressive trestle that kept killing people looked really, really familiar.

Turns out the movie was filmed not too far from here, and I’ve driven by the old track line before. I’ve seen the bridge and the tunnel, and although it’s no longer in use, it’s still a pretty impressive sight.

We liked the movie. It was a solid piece of “whodunnit,” where nothing is as it seems. I did predict most of the twists, but in the end it was so enjoyable a ride I didn’t at all mind not being fooled. 


*There were a couple of scenes I didn’t watch, because murder mysteries mean murder and even at a PG level I have difficulty seeing it.

6 thoughts on “There is no Returning from these Trestles of the Heart

  1. I haven’t seen “River of No Return” but I watched “Breakheart Pass” with the family not long after we moved here. I actually was interested in the movie because its based off a book by one of my favorite authors, Alistair Maclean. Have you read any of his books?

    • I have not! I didn’t even know “Breakheart Pass” was based on a book until I went to research it. Alistair Maclean seems fairly popular, and if the writing is as good (or better, more likely) as the movie, then he’s definitely a name I want to get to know.

      Are there other books of his that you especially like?

      • He was quite popular as far as I know. They’ve made a few movies based off of his books….favorite books of his include “The Guns of Navarone” and “Where Eagles Dare”.

        “The Guns of Navarone” was made into a movie in 1961 starring Gregory Peck (Okay but they change the storyline a little…) and “Where Eagles Dare” in 1968 starring Clint Eastwood, (one of my all time favorite movies!!!!) Have you seen either one?

        If not, I’m thinking we need to have a movie night….:-)

Leave a Reply

