Writing on Writing: The Car Chase

The service van slammed on its brakes to avoid hitting us. I grinned at the two startled faces and took aim with the super soaker. (Novel, WIP)

tmp_11624-muscle-car-1155884_1280-1538765505I’ve just finished writing my first ever car chase scene. For a first draft, it’s…well, it’s terrible. Like all my first drafts. Only afterwards did I think to check the internet for insights, and now I have a page of notes to mentally chew on before my first round of revisions.

The page I found most useful was a thread on Reddit. The whole thing was interesting, but this comment in particular proved incredibly helpful.

One of the recurring thoughts in almost every website I visited is not to get bogged down in the details. Keep the momentum going, and let the reader fill in the gaps with their own imaginations. tmp_11624-taxi-842341_1280-700805876

A number of places recommended reading movie scripts to get a sense of what’s important and what’s not, and so I landed on whatascript.com’s entry on car chases, and it was a fascinating read. Also, there was a snippet of screenplay from one of the The Bourne Supremacy car chases, so that’s, you know, cool.

ETA: Since writing this I have brought Pen Wending back to life. Sort of. All future posts about writing related stuff will be posted there. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Writing on Writing: The Car Chase

  1. I think, as a reader, I will now try to fill in the gaps with my imagination, as I ponder you at your desk being chased by and chasing cars. Perhaps the children could do the sound effects at your feet to set the scene! Isn’t it interesting how many helpful websites there are though in various creative endeavors. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

