Cabbage Roll Soup

tmp_12614-IMG_20170313_185705418720333

This is a placeholder photo until I can take a better one that does the soup justice. Or just click on the link. It looks amazing there.

I’ve never had cabbage rolls, so I can’t say anything about how true-to-flavor the soup is, but yanno, I don’t need to have cabbage rolls to know this soup is really good.

I used this recipe with the following alterations:

– no pork, because I didn’t have it (it was delicious with just beef)

– half green cabbage, half purple cabbage, because it’s what I had

– 2 (14.5 oz) cans stewed tomatoes pulsed in the blender a few times (instead of diced tomatoes, which I didn’t have)

– dried herbs instead of fresh (as a general rule, 1 Tablespoon fresh = 1 teaspoon dried)

It seems like a very adaptable recipe, and one pot to boot! Plus all the kids liked it, which makes it even better in my book.

Leave a Reply

