Sometimes I hear animals in music. (Horses and Chickens Edition)

Horses are easy. (YouTube thinks so too.)

William Tell Overture (Rossini)

Light Cavalry Overture (Suppe)

Recently I was listening to a CD of French piano duets and one track gave me pause. “What does this remind me of?” I thought to myself, over and over. Finally, after 3 days of thinking about it and multiple listens, I had it.

A chicken running after bugs.

Jeux D’Enfants, Opus 22, No. 2, La Toupie (translation: Spinning Top) (Bizet)

I now would be very interested in discovering all the chicken pieces of the classical world.

One thought on “Sometimes I hear animals in music. (Horses and Chickens Edition)

Leave a Reply

