“It’s 4:30 and I don’t know what I’m making for dinner.” (A story from last week.)

I desperately needed to go shopping, and a lot of our staples weren’t available, so I took to the pantry to see what I could come up with. Pantry raids are invaluable, truly. Sometimes it’s like a treasure hunt.

“Oh! Here’s a can of olives waaay in the back. You look lonely, come here.”

“Where did these cans of chunk chicken come from?”

Long story short, here’s a throw-it-together dinner that actually worked and everyone liked it. Considering I was craving pizza at the time, I went with Italian seasonings.

tmp_14416-IMG_20170705_140623858095531

2 cans chunk chicken
small bunch of kale, chopped
2 cans stewed tomatoes, blended

1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic powder
salt
pepper

1 can olives, sliced

1) Brown the chicken in a little oil over medium heat.

2) Add the chopped kale and continue cooking until kale is wilted.

3) Add the blended tomatoes and spices, bring to boil then reduce to simmer for at least 15 minutes.

Serve over pasta, rice, or maybe even thick slices of toasted garlic bread? Top with sliced olives.

I had rice, so I went with that. I would have loved to add chopped onions and some other veggies (not to mention cheese), but yanno, work with what you have.

Leave a Reply

